Shortcuts

    Im Gefängnis von Monaco

    Monaco hat die weltweit größte Polizei und Polizeipräsenz - sowohl pro Kopf als auch pro Gebiet. In Monaco kann man kaum eine Straße überqueren, ohne dass die Behörden davon erfahren, da Kameras mit geschlossenem Stromkreis ungefähr so ​​allgegenwärtig sind wie Supersportwagen in Monaco. Wenn Sie jedoch etwas Illegales tun, landen Sie im Maison d'Arrêt in Monaco - einem Gefängnis mit Blick auf mehrere Millionen Dollar.

    Im Gefängnis von Monaco - Oceanographic Museum Monaco Gefängnis 2
    Das Gefängnis / Gefängnis von Monaco ist das Gebäude auf der rechten Seite

    Das Maison d'Arrêt in Monaco, zu dem vier Zellenblöcke, eine Kapelle und ein Gefängnishof gehören, bietet einen Blick auf das Meer an Land, wo 1 Million US-Dollar etwa 90 Quadratmeter kaufen.

    Das Maison d'Arrêt liegt an den schroffen Klippen von Monaco mit Blick auf das Ligurische Meer (ein Teil des Mittelmeers zwischen Italien und Korsika). Das heißt, Gefangene mit Blick nach Südosten blicken auf das ruhige, tiefblaue Wasser des Meeres - Ansichten, für deren Genuss andere um sie herum zig Millionen Dollar zahlen.

    Und es ist nicht so, als wäre das Gefängnis in eine vergessene Ecke von Monaco geworfen worden. Auf dem Felsen über dem Hafen gelegen, ist es nur hundert Meter die Straße hinunter vom Palast des Prinzen entfernt.

    Der Unterschied in der Ausstattung zwischen den beiden Gebäuden ist so groß, wie man es sich nur vorstellen kann. Innerhalb des Gefängniskomplexes gibt es vier Zellenblöcke: einen für Frauen (mit Blick auf das Meer), einen für Jugendliche und zwei für Männer (einen für Anwohner und einen für diejenigen, die anderswo leben … die Zellen für ausländische Männer sind nicht gemütlich); eine Kapelle, ein Gefängnishof, eine Küche, ein Fitnessstudio, ein Kraftraum, drei Waschräume und eine Bibliothek mit einem Computerraum.

    Im Gefängnis von Monaco - Essen im Gefängnis von Monaco 1
    Gefängnisessen

    Die weiblichen Sträflinge in dem winzigen Gefängnis haben einen fantastischen Meerblick und eine komfortable Zelle – trotz des Drahtes über ihren Köpfen, um eine Flucht mit dem Hubschrauber zu verhindern. Die Männer befinden sich in einem anderen Bereich, der viel weniger glamourös ist und keine Aussicht hat.

    Insassen (die Einwohner von Monaco sind) werden gut behandelt. Serviert werden Pasta mit Entrecôte-Steak und Bruschetta mit Tomate und Emmentaler. Sie haben Zugang zu Friseuren und Zahnärzten sowie zu einem Fitnessstudio und einem Spielzimmer, in dem sie Tischtennis spielen können.

    Die Gründe für die Ankunft von Insassen in Mason d'Arrêt variieren zwischen Diebstahl (30 %) und Finanzkriminalität (20 %). Es wird sogar gesagt, dass eine Person, die für schuldig befunden wird, eine Katze in der Öffentlichkeit getreten zu haben, einen Monat lang im Maison d'Arrêt landen kann. So, Pass auf wo du hintrittst!

    Im Gefängnis von Monaco - Gefängnis von Monaco 1
    der Blick aus einer Gefängniszelle in Monaco

    Die Geschichte des Gefängnisses von Monaco

    Obwohl über Monacos Gefängnisse vor 1789 nur wenige Informationen verfügbar sind, ist es wahrscheinlich, dass sie sich direkt im Fürstenpalast befanden, wie in einem Schatzdokument aus dem Jahr 1726 angegeben und durch zahlreiche andere historische Aufzeichnungen bestätigt.

    1792 war das mit Frankreich verbundene Fürstentum an allen Fronten in Streitigkeiten verwickelt und musste die Kriegsgefangenen unterbringen. In einer offiziellen Aufzeichnung vom 4. Ventôse-Jahr VIII der Französischen Republik (23. Februar 1800), die vom Militärbefehlshaber von Monaco ausgestellt wurde, wurde der bedauernswerte Zustand von sechs Wohnungen im Palast vermerkt, die als Gefängnis dienten.

    Die königliche Familie kehrte 1815 nach Monaco zurück und erlangte den Besitz des Palastes zurück. Die verschiedenen Büros, die während der Französischen Revolution unrechtmäßig im Palast eingerichtet wurden, wurden entfernt. Das Fürstentum musste sich der umfassenderen Frage stellen, wie ein Justizsystem eingerichtet und die öffentliche Ordnung sichergestellt werden kann. In einem ersten Versuch, das Gefängnissystem zu reformieren, beschloss Prinz Honoré V., ehemalige Lagerhäuser zu nutzen. Diese Einrichtungen erwiesen sich jedoch als unzureichend und für die Bedürfnisse eines Gefängnisses ungeeignet.

    Um 1865 wurde beschlossen, das Gefängnis in einer großen unterirdischen Kammer unter den St. Martin Gardens unterzubringen. Dieses 46 Meter lange, 9 Meter breite und 6 Meter hohe Gebiet war Teil der Befestigungsanlagen, die Prinz Antoine I. im frühen 17. Jahrhundert in der Nähe des nach ihm benannten Forts errichtete. Entwickelt, um die Bevölkerung und das Militär im Falle eines Angriffs unterzubringen, hatte es auch den Vorteil, mit einem Wassertank mit großer Kapazität ausgestattet zu sein.

    Im März 1990 wurde die Verwaltung des Justizvollzugssystems dem Justizminister unterstellt. Nach dem Vorbild vieler anderer europäischer Länder fällt die Vollstreckung von Strafen nun vollständig in die Zuständigkeit der Justiz von Monaco.

    Im Gefängnis von Monaco - Gefängnis von Monaco 2
    das Gefängnis mit Blick auf ein Café und das Meer

    Entwicklung der Gefängnisbevölkerung

    Bei der Betrachtung der Aufzeichnungen des Gefängnisses fallen drei sehr unterschiedliche Phasen auf:

    1886 bis zum Ersten Weltkrieg

    Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts war die Zahl der Insassen aufgrund des Wirtschaftswachstums des Fürstentums und insbesondere der Gründung von Monte Carlo, die eine Vielzahl von Gewinnsuchenden auf der Suche nach leichtem Geld anzog, relativ hoch.

    Von dieser Zeit an machten Ausländer einen erheblichen Prozentsatz der Gefängnisinsassen aus. So dokumentiert das Verhaftungsregister für das Jahr 1900 14 verschiedene Nationalitäten. Die Zahl der Inhaftierten ging deutlich zurück, als Europa für den Ersten Weltkrieg mobilisierte. 

    1919 bis 1960

    Diese Periode war gekennzeichnet durch einen Nettoverlust der Zahl der Insassen im Vergleich zur Vorperiode, trotz eines erheblichen Anstiegs von 1926 bis 1936 und unmittelbar nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. Dieser Anstieg war das Ergebnis des sozioökonomischen Umfelds und der historischen Umstände dieser beiden Perioden.

    1960 bis 2004

    Dies war eine Zeit des Wandels, in der das Untersuchungsgefängnis zeitweise mehr als zweihundert Insassen in einem einzigen Jahr unterbringen musste (215 Insassen wurden aufgenommen und im Verhaftungsregister für das Jahr 1983 eingetragen).

    Es scheint auch, dass sich die Verbrechen im Zusammenhang mit den meisten dieser Inhaftierungen im Vergleich zu früheren Perioden geändert haben. So nahmen beispielsweise drogenbedingte Verstöße und „Wirtschaftskriminalität“ in diesem Zeitraum erheblich zu. In Bezug auf die Nationalität der Insassen gab es einen klaren Trend zu größerer Vielfalt. Im Jahr 1984 waren beispielsweise 40% der gesamten Gefängnisbevölkerung Bürger anderer Länder als Monaco oder Frankreich.

    2004 bis 2012

    Eine Veränderung in der Gefängnisbevölkerung ist offensichtlich, von denen 50% aus Ausländern bestehen, deren Staatsangehörigkeit weder französisch noch monegassisch ist. Darüber hinaus hat die Zahl der jugendlichen Insassen sowie der Zahl der Insassen aus Osteuropa (über 20% der Insassen) stark zugenommen. Monaco hat mit 24% weiblichen Insassen die höchste Rate weiblicher Gefangener an der gesamten Gefängnisbevölkerung eines Landes der Welt.

    Trotz eines Anstiegs der Zahl jugendlicher Insassen herrscht im Internierungslager eine relativ ruhige Atmosphäre, in der die Insassen ihre Inhaftierung eher „ruhig“ tolerieren. Im Jahr 2011 wurde eine Partnerschaft mit dem Ministerium für Bildung, Jugend und Sport geschlossen, damit Jugendliche ihre Ausbildung und verschiedene damit verbundene Aktivitäten fortsetzen können.

    Im Gegensatz zu den Vorjahren ist es schwierig, die in diesem Zeitraum begangenen Straftaten zu kategorisieren, obwohl 25% der Festnahmen wegen Fahrens unter Alkoholeinfluss, 30% wegen Diebstahls und 20% wegen Finanzverbrechen vorgenommen wurden. 

    Jason Batemans Verhaftung in Monaco

    Im Gefängnis von Monaco - Monaco-Gefängnis Jason Bateman
    Der junge Jason Bateman

    In seinem Podcast Schlau, A-List-Schauspieler Jason Bateman zugegeben, während der F1-Grand-Prix, bei dem er betrunken war das Monte-Carlo-Casino als er 20 Jahre alt war (und einen Anzug mit Leopardenmuster trug!) und in einem Hotel außerhalb von Monaco übernachtete.

    Um 4 Uhr morgens fragte er die Männer, die Zeitungen auslieferten, ob er mitfahren könnte, und sie waren unhöflich zu ihm, also schlug er frustriert gegen die Seite des Lastwagens. Als Antwort schlugen sie ihn so hart, dass er bewusstlos wurde.

    Er wachte liegend auf der Straße mit einer ausgerenkten Schulter auf, als ein Polizist aus Monaco ihn festnahm und in den betrunkenen Tank der Polizeistation am unteren Eingang des Felsens neben den F1-Boxen steckte. Er wachte morgens mit dem Geräusch der F1-Autos auf.

    Monacos Polizei

    Im Gefängnis von Monaco - Polizei des Reiseführers von Monaco 1

    Die sicherste Stadt an der französischen Riviera (und vielleicht der Welt) ist Monaco. Mit landesweiter Videoüberwachung, drei Polizeistationen und einem Polizisten pro 73 Einwohner hat Monaco so strenge Sicherheitsstandards, dass es als die sicherste Quadratmeile der Welt bekannt ist. Vergleichen Sie das mit NYC, einer der am meisten kontrollierten und sichersten Städte der USA, die einen Beamten pro 233 Einwohner hat.

    Im Gefängnis von Monaco - Sicherheit der Polizei in Monaco
    die Hauptpolizeistation im Hafen Hercule (die Condamine), Monaco

    Die 519 Polizisten werden sorgfältig von der französischen Polizei ausgewählt und müssen ein zusätzliches zweijähriges Intensivtrainingsprogramm absolvieren, um in Monaco zu dienen. Es ist eine sehr wünschenswerte Position, da sie ein hohes Gehalt und eine kostenlose Wohnung am Meer in Fontvieille, Monaco, erhalten.

    Die Polizei von Monaco spielt nicht herum: Die Regeln sind extrem streng und während das Gefängnis von Monaco notorisch komfortabel ist, spricht das Gerichtssystem in Monaco fast immer Höchststrafen aus. Also benimm dich!

    Monaco verfügt über ein 24-Stunden-Videoüberwachungssystem, das sich über die gesamte Fläche des Fürstentums erstreckt, einschließlich der Mehrheit der Lobbys von Wohngebäuden, eines Übertragungssystems, das den besten Armeen der Welt würdig ist, und der Möglichkeit, jeglichen Zugang innerhalb und außerhalb des Fürstentums zu blockieren Fürstentum in wenigen Minuten. Und wir dürfen die Überwachungsteams im Casino und in allen Glücksspieleinrichtungen und Hotels nicht vergessen.

    Dies funktioniert gut für Anwohner und Touristen, da Sie sich keine Sorgen machen müssen, dass Ihr Diamantarmband oder Ihre Designer-Tasche gestohlen werden oder Ihr Kind vermisst wird. Wenn Ihr Kind abwandert, kann die Polizei es mit Gesichtserkennungsvideo verfolgen und Ihr Kind in wenigen Minuten finden.

    Der Inhalt ist gesetzlich geschützt.

    Hast du einen Tipp? Email [E-Mail geschützt]

    SucheArchiv
    X
    ar العربيةzh-CN 简体中文nl Nederlandsen Englishfr Françaisde Deutschit Italianopt Portuguêsru Русскийes Español

Shortcuts

    Inside Monaco’s Jail

    Monaco has the largest police force and police presence in the world — on both a per-capita and per-area basis. In Monaco, you can barely cross a street without the authorities knowing about it, as closed-circuit cameras are about as ubiquitous as supercars in Monaco. But if you do happen to do something illegal, you’ll wind up in Monaco’s Maison d’Arrêt—a jail with multimillion-dollar views.

    Inside Monaco's Jail - Oceanographic Museum monaco prison 2
    monaco’s prison / Jail is the building on the right

    Monaco’s Maison d’Arrêt—which includes four cellblocks, a chapel, and a prison yard—features seaside views on land where $1 million buys roughly 90 square feet.

    Maison d’Arrêt sits along the craggy cliffs of Monaco that overlook the Ligurian Sea (a part of the Mediterranean Sea between the Italy and the Corsica). Which is all to say, prisoners facing southeast look out over the calm, deep blue waters of the sea—views that others around them pay tens of millions of dollars to enjoy.

    And it’s not as if the prison was cast aside to some forgotten corner of Monaco. Perched on the rock above the harbor, it’s just a hundred meters down the road from the Prince’s palace.

    The difference in amenities between the two buildings is about as stark is one can imagine. Within the prison complex, there are four cellblocks: one for women (which faces the sea), one for juveniles, and two for men (one for residents and one for those who live elsewhere… the cells for foreign men are not comfortable); a chapel, a prison yard, a kitchen, a gym, a weight room, three laundry rooms, and a library with a computer lab.

    Inside Monaco's Jail - monaco prison jail food 1
    prison food

    The female convicts in the tiny prison get an amazing sea view, and comfortable cell – despite the wire above their heads to prevent escape by helicopter. The men are situated in another area which is far less glam, and don’t have views.

    Inmates (who are Monaco residents) are treated well. They are served pasta with entrecôte steak and bruschetta with tomato and Emmental cheese. They’re given access to hairdressers and dentists, and a gym and games room where they can play ping pong.

    The reasons for inmates arriving to Mason d’Arrêt vary between theft (30%) to financial crimes (20%). It’s even been said that a person found guilty of kicking a cat in public can end up in Maison d’Arrêt for a month. So, watch your step!

    Inside Monaco's Jail - monaco prison 1
    the view from inside a jail cell in monaco

    The History of Monaco’s Prison

    Although there is little information available on Monaco’s prisons before 1789, it is likely that they were located directly within the Prince’s Palace, as indicated in a treasury document from 1726 and corroborated by numerous other historical records.

    In 1792, the Principality, connected to France, was engaged in disputes on all fronts and had to house the prisoners of war. An official record dated 4 Ventôse Year VIII of the French Republic (23 February 1800) issued by the military commander of Monaco noted the deplorable state of six apartments within the Palace that served as a prison.

    The Royal Family returned to Monaco in 1815 and regained possession of the Palace. The various offices that were set up in the Palace illegitimately during the French Revolution were removed. The Principality had to face the broader issue of how to set up a judicial system and ensure public order. In a first attempt at reforming the prison system, Prince Honoré V decided to make use of former warehouses. But these facilities proved to be insufficient and unsuited to the needs of a prison.

    Around 1865, the decision was made to house the prison in a large underground chamber underneath the St. Martin Gardens. This area, measuring 46 meters long by 9 meters wide and 6 meters high, was part of the fortifications built in the early 17th century by Prince Antoine I, near the Fort that bears His name. Designed to house the population and the military in case of attack, it also had the advantage of being equipped with a large-capacity water tank.

    In March 1990, the administration of the correctional system was placed under the authority of the Secretary of Justice. Following in the example of many other European countries, the enforcement of sentences now falls entirely under the responsibility of Monaco’s judicial branch.

    Inside Monaco's Jail - monaco prison jail 2
    the jail, overlooking a cafe and the sea

    Evolution of the Prison Population

    When looking at the prison’s records, three very different phases stand out:

    1886 to World War I

    At the end of the 19th century, the number of inmates was relatively high due to the economic growth of the Principality and, especially, of the founding of Monte Carlo, which attracted a wide variety of profit-seekers seeking easy money.

    From this period on, foreigners began to comprise a significant percentage of the prison population. For instance, the registry of arrests for the year 1900 documents 14 different nationalities. The number of people in prison dropped significantly as Europe mobilized for World War I. 

    1919 to 1960

    This period was marked by a net drop in the number of inmates in relation to the previous period, despite a substantial increase from 1926 to 1936 and immediately following World War II. This increase was the result of the socio-economic environment and historical circumstances of these two periods.

    1960 to 2004

    This was a time of change, during which the Remand Prison was at times required to house more than two hundred inmates during a single year (215 inmates admitted and recorded in the registry of arrests for the year 1983).

    Also, it appears that the crimes related to most of these incarcerations were changing in relation to prior periods. For instance, drug-related violations and “white-collar crime” rose significantly during this period. Regarding the nationality of the inmates, there was a clear trend toward greater diversity. In 1984, for example, 40% of the entire prison population represented citizens of countries other than Monaco or France.

    2004 to 2012

    A change is obvious in the prison population, 50% of which is now made up of foreigners who are neither French nor Monegasque in nationality. In addition, there has been a sharp increase in the number of juvenile inmates as well as in the number of inmates from Eastern Europe (over 20% of inmates). Monaco has the highest rate of female prisoners of total prison population of any country in the world, at 24% female inmates.

    Despite an increase in the number of juvenile inmates, a relatively calm atmosphere prevails in the detention center, with inmates tolerating their incarceration in a rather “tranquil” manner. A partnership with the Department of Education, Youth and Sport was formed in 2011 to allow juveniles to continue their education and various related activities.

    Unlike previous years, it is difficult to categorize the crimes committed during this period, although 25% of arrests were for driving under the influence of alcohol, 30% for theft and 20% for financial crimes. 

    Jason Bateman’s Arrest in Monaco

    Inside Monaco's Jail - monaco jail jason bateman
    Young Jason Bateman

    On his podcast, Smartless, A-list actor Jason Bateman admitted that, during the F1 Grand Prix, he got drunk at the Monte Carlo casino when he was 20 years old (wearing a leopard-print suit!) and was staying at a hotel just outside of Monaco.

    At 4am he asked the men delivering newspapers if he could get a ride, and they were rude to him in return, so he smacked the side of the truck in frustration. In response, they punched him so hard that it knocked him unconscious.

    He woke up horizontal on the street, with a dislocated shoulder, when a Monaco police officer arrested him and put him in the drunk tank at the Police station by the bottom entrance to the Rock, next to the F1 pits. He woke in the morning to the sound of the F1 cars.

    Spiderman is in the Monaco Jail

    An enterprising 40-year-old Lithuanian national with rock-climbing experience made use of his expertise on several occasions by climbing several tall buildings in Monaco to steal valuables. Law enforcement branded him Spiderman.

    He choose residences close to the border with France, so he could make a quick escape. In June 2019, he ascended the Odeon Tower (one of Monaco’s most prestigious residential buildings), where he broke into an apartment close to the summit of the 50-floor skyscraper and cracked into a safe to steal €2 million worth of watches and jewelry, plus €35,000 in cash. The owners were away for a few days, but he left behind his climbing gear and a rope hanging from the victim’s terrace.

    Inside Monaco's Jail - monaco jail guide spiderman
    the odeon tower, in Monaco

    In September he tried his luck near the heliport, but woke the lady resident, who came face-to-face with the thief. Her safe was still attached to a pulley to be placed on an abandoned site in Cap-d’Ail.

    Avenue Princess Grace was also targeted, and a window was forced open on the 27th floor of the Formentor building. A metal cabinet was found in the basement with a bag, a homemade grappling hook, ropes, sneakers and climbing gear. DNA analysis recovered from the objects showed a match to a Lithuanian national. His DNA was circulated around the world, and a photo was sent by the Baltic authorities.

    Apparently, he wanted to fit in with the Monaco crowd, as he came back to party and watch the 2021 Grand Prix, where he was recognized and arrested. He has not cooperated or been forthcoming about his (likely many) other robberies. He, instead, claims to be the “victim of a conspiracy”.

    The court has sentenced Spiderman to 3 years for the robberies that they can prove, plus 5 months for using a false identity. He was held in pre-trial detention, much of it in solitary confinement, since May 23, 2021. In the end, he got his wish: to be a resident of Monaco!

    Monaco’s Police Force

    Inside Monaco's Jail - monaco travel guide police 1

    The safest city on the French Riviera (and perhaps in the world) is Monaco. With nation-wide video surveillance, three police stations, and one police officer per 73 residents, Monaco has safety standards so strict that it is known as the safest square mile in the world. Compare that to NYC, one of the USA’s most policed and safest cities, which has one officer per 233 residents.

    Inside Monaco's Jail - monaco travel guide police safety
    the main police station, in port Hercule(the Condamine), Monaco

    The 519 police officers are carefully selected from the French police force and must go through an additional two-year intensive training program to serve in Monaco. It’s a very desirable position as they get a high salary and a free seaside apartment in Fontvieille, Monaco.

    The Monaco police don’t mess around: the rules are extremely strict and while the Monaco jail is notoriously comfortable, the court system in Monaco almost always pronounces maximum sentences. So behave yourself!

    Monaco has a system of 24-hour video surveillance spanning the entire surface area of the Principality, including the majority of residential building lobbies, a transmitting system worthy of the best armies in the world, the possibility of blocking all access in and out of the Principality in several minutes. And we mustn’t forget the surveillance teams inside of the Casino and in all of the gambling establishments and hotels.

    This works well for residents and tourists, as you won’t need to worry about your diamond bracelet or designer bag being stolen, or your child going missing. If your child wanders off, the police will be able to track him/her with facial-recognition video tracking and find your child in a matter of minutes.

    Content is legally protected.

    Have a tip? Email [email protected]

    SearchArchive
    X
    ar العربيةzh-CN 简体中文nl Nederlandsen Englishfr Françaisde Deutschit Italianopt Portuguêsru Русскийes Español