اختصارات

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟

    أهلا بك! أنت تشاهد دليل السفر رقم 1 الأكثر شعبية إلى الريفيرا الفرنسية. جزء من سبب شهرة Iconic Riviera هو أنها كتبها السكان المحليون و نقولها كما هي.

    في قائمة التنقل أعلاه ، سترى قائمة بالمدن (وإذا بدت القائمة ساحقة ، فلا داعي للقلق - فهناك ملخص لكل مدينة أدناه). يحتوي كل منها على أدلة السفر وقوائم الأحداث ، بالإضافة إلى توصيات حول الأماكن التي يمكنك الذهاب إليها من أجل المتعة ، ورؤية الطبيعة ، والمنتجع الصحي ، والتسوق والنوم ، والمزيد. لدينا أيضًا ملف تقويم الأحداث التي يمكنك الاشتراك فيها عبر تقويم Google.

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - دليل السفر الريفيرا الفرنسية 2

    سواء كنت تبحث عن يوم يبدأ (وينتهي) بالورد في الساعة نادي الشاطئ المليء بالمشاهير أو تفضل مكانًا منعزلًا على شاطئ البحر أو هروبًا من القرية التاريخية ، فإن Iconic Riviera ستملأك بأفضل الأماكن للعثور على كل ما تبحث عنه. تابع القراءة لمعرفة سبب جذب مدن الريفيرا الفرنسية للعديد من الفنانين والمشاهير والباحثين عن الشمس وراكبي الطائرات.

    لبدء رحلتك في الريفيرا الفرنسية ، إليك نظرة عامة مثالية على المنطقة:

    لماذا يحب الناس الريفيرا الفرنسية

    الريفيرا الفرنسية مكان مبهج حيث تتمايل أشجار النخيل في النسيم الدافئ والبحر أزرق أكثر مما رأيته من قبل ؛ حيث لا يزال بإمكانك اكتشاف تأثير الملوك الأوروبيين منذ زمن بعيد ؛ وحيث يطلق على قائمة A-listers اسم "الوطن" لسنوات. تقع في جنوب شرق فرنسا ، تمتد الريفيرا الفرنسية من مينتون إلى Nice، أنتيبس ، كان ، سانت تروبيز ، واعتمادًا على من تسأل ، كاسيس.

    بينما احتفظت الريفيرا الفرنسية بسمعة ساحرة منذ الخمسينيات (بريجيت باردو تشمس على شواطئ سانت تروبيز؛ المستمعون يتمايلون السجادة الحمراء لمدينة كان) ، هناك ما هو أكثر من كوت دازور أكثر من مجرد مدن المنتجعات النفاثة - بما في ذلك الجزر البوهيمية الشاعرية ، وبلدات القرون الوسطى التي تقع على قمة التل والتي تضم مطاعمها الحائزة على نجمة ميشلان ، و مشهد فني على مستوى عالمي.

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - خريطة دليل السفر الريفيرا الفرنسية

    تزخر الريفيرا الفرنسية بالأحجار الكريمة المخفية الغارقة في التاريخ المحلي والمأكولات الممتازة وملاذات الفنانين. توجه إلى الداخل من صخب الواجهة البحرية لاستكشاف المدن الغارقة في ثقافة البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​الغنية ، حيث تعانق مزارع الكروم البكر معالم جانب التل ومجموعة من الأنشطة الحرفية التي توفر جاذبية لا نهاية لها.

    هذه المنطقة الدرامية والمتنوعة والخلابة هي موطن للعديد من "قرى perchés". البلدات القديمة الواقعة على سفوح التلال المليئة بالمجتمعات المزدهرة ، حيث تمتزج الفخامة المنعزلة مع التاريخ. إن هذه الجيوب الفريدة من الإلهام تُظهر بالفعل قوة جذب لا تُضاهى ، وعلى استعداد لسحر وإغواء حواس أولئك الذين يأتون للاستكشاف.

    ليس سراً أن كوت دازور المفعمة بالحيوية كانت منذ فترة طويلة قرعة كبيرة للفنانين ، مما أدى إلى روائع التي غيرت وجه الفن كما نعرفه. أثارت هذه الأماكن المفضلة هذه الرؤية العاطفية بفضل المياه الزرقاء الفريدة وغروب الشمس النابض بالحياة ، وهي حقيقة يسهل تقديرها عند مشاهدة وميض الضوء الرائع عبر الساحل المتموج. 

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - مشاهير الريفيرا الفرنسية على غرار 1
    تزور بيونسيه وجاي زي الريفيرا الفرنسية بشكل متكرر

    تشتهر الريفيرا الفرنسية بشواطئها ، ومناظرها ، ومياهها المثالية ، ويخوتها ، و ملعب للأثرياء. فمن ال مكانًا لنخبة العالم لتلاحق أكتافها كل صيف. تتلألأ الموانئ باليخوت الفاخرة. تبرز منحدرات صخرية فوق بحر فيروزي ، وتشكل الساحل الصخري الشهير لريفيرا الفرنسية. القرى والخلجان الجذابة مخبأة بين مدن وبلدات المنطقة ، وأشهرها موناكو وسان تروبيه ، Nice، وكان.

    تستفيد المنطقة من ما يصل إلى 330 يوم من أشعة الشمس السنويةو 115 كيلومترًا من الساحل و 18 ملعبًا للجولف و 14 منتجعًا للتزلج و 3000 مطعم. لذا ، أينما تزور الريفييرا ، تأكد من أنه سيكون هناك الكثير لتفعله!

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - دليل السفر كاب مارتن روكبرون 2
    تطل على البحر فوق قرية إيزي

    لقب الريفيرا الفرنسية (أو الساحل الأزرق) يأتي من البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​الفيروزي. الكلمة الريفيرا يعني ساحل باللغة الإيطالية. هذه المنطقة من ساحل البحر المتوسط ​​الفرنسي هي واحدة من بؤر السياحة العالمية. تلتقي الفخامة والتقاليد والثقافة والترفيه والشواطئ والجبال في كوت دازور لجعلها مكانًا خاصًا لا يُنسى.

    أين الريفيرا الفرنسية؟

    يمكن القول إن الريفيرا الفرنسية ، التي يشار إليها أحيانًا باسم كوت دازور ، هي المكان الأكثر إثارة في العالم. الريفيرا الفرنسية هي الساحل الجميل في جنوب شرق فرنسا على طول البحر الأبيض المتوسط. وهي تغطي حوالي 550 ميلاً واكتسبت لقب كوت دازور أو ساحل أزور (الأزرق) في عام 1887.

    تقع الريفيرا الفرنسية بين منطقة جبال الألب الجنوبية والبحر الأبيض المتوسط. إنها القلب النابض لأوروبا المتوسطية. وتحيط به دائرة ألب ماريتيم. لا توجد حدود رسمية ولكن معظم السكان المحليين يفكرون في مكان قريب سانت تروبيه لتكون الحدود الناعمة على الجانب الغربي ، والحدود الفرنسية الإيطالية في الشرق ، بعد عشرين دقيقة مينتون. Nice، قطعة من الجوهرة على الساحل الجنوبي الشرقي لفرنسا ، وهي بمثابة عاصمة غير رسمية لأنها أكبر مدينة في المنطقة.

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - خريطة دليل السفر الريفيرا الفرنسية

    تقع الريفيرا الفرنسية في قلب أوروبا ، بين جبال الألب الجنوبية والبحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​، من كاسيس إلى مينتونمنتزه ميركانتور الوطنيتشكل ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع 13 متنزهًا طبيعيًا آخر في مقاطعة كوت دازور ، ملعبًا واسعًا للمشي لمسافات طويلة وركوب الخيل وركوب الدراجات في الجبال والتجديف بالقوارب والتسلق والكهوف. تضم هذه المنطقة أيضًا 15 منتجعًا للتزلج مع أكثر من 700 كيلومتر من المنحدرات.

    نظرة عامة بصرية

    يقدم هذا الفيديو نظرة عامة رائعة على المنطقة:

    مناخ ريفييرا

    الريفيرا الفرنسية لديها مناخ متوسطي مثالي. يوازن الشتاء المعتدل بين الصيف المشمس والحار والجاف. لا توجد أيام صقيع تقريبًا.

    يكون الجو أكثر دفئًا بجانب الماء ، ويكون أكثر برودة كلما ابتعدت عن الساحل. أضمن شيء هو وجود أشعة الشمس على مدار السنة ، مع 330 يومًا في الصيف كل عام. مع مناخ البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​ومأوى جبال الألب من الرياح القاسية ، يمكنك التأكد من أنك مرتاح في أي وقت من السنة.

    تحقق من دليلنا ل المناخ والطقس ومتى تزور الريفيرا الفرنسية.

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - ملصقة دليل السفر الريفيرا الفرنسية
    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - دليل السفر الريفيرا الفرنسية 3 1
    كاب مارتن بين موناكو ومينتون

    شعب الريفيرا الفرنسية

    لنكن حقيقيين. لبعض الوقت ، كانت فرنسا دولة لا تحب نفسها. في مكان ما على الطريق من إذلالها في الحرب العالمية الثانية إلى خيبة أملها من التكامل الأوروبي إلى عدم ارتياحها من العولمة ، انزلقت فرنسا في الكآبة. قطارات عالية السرعة مطرقة ؛ عبس فرنسا. يرفض المعلمون إعطاء درجات A + للعمل A + بينما يكبر الطلاب معتقدين أنهم لم يكونوا جيدين بما فيه الكفاية. لا! أصبح القرن المتحرك ، وأصبح التذمر أسلوب حياة ؛ الاستجابة لفقدان العظمة.

    أحد الاستثناءات القليلة لذلك هو الريفيرا الفرنسية. ربما تكون الشمس والشواطئ ، أو النشاط السياحي الضخم ، أو حقيقة أنها منطقة غنية بشكل عام ، لكن الناس في جنوب فرنسا أسرع في الابتسام من مواطنيهم في الشمال.

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - فيلات دليل السفر الريفيرا الفرنسية 1
    فيلات في كاب مارتن ، بين موناكو ومنتون

    يبلغ عدد سكان الريفيرا الفرنسية أكثر من مليوني نسمة. كما قد تكون خمنت ، فإن معظم السكان هم من الفرنسيين ، واللغة الرسمية هي الفرنسية ، لكن معظم الناس يتحدثون الإنجليزية نظرًا لوجود الكثير من البريطانيين والإيطاليين الذين لديهم منازل ثانية أو انتقلوا إلى المنطقة. من السهل التوافق في اللغة الإنجليزية والعديد من اللافتات باللغتين في أكثر المناطق السياحية.

    يرغب ملوك الشرق الأوسط العصريون والأغنياء الجدد أيضًا في طعم البريق والثروة التي تمنحها الريفيرا الفرنسية. في العقد الماضي ، شهدت الريفيرا الفرنسية عددًا متزايدًا من السياح الروس ، والشرق الأوسط ، والصينيين ، والعديد منهم يجلبون فيلات فاخرة على الواجهة البحرية والشحن في لامبورغيني المخصصة لهم لهذا الموسم.

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - دليل بريجيت باردو سانت تروبيز
    ساعدت بريجيت باردو في جعل سانت تروبيه نقطة ساخنة لطائرات جيت

    لذلك ، كما لاحظت الآن ، يبدو أن الريفيرا الفرنسية منطقة غنية بالثروة. لكن هل كانت دائما هكذا؟ حسنًا ، في الحقيقة ، نعم.

    في الأصل ، كانت الريفيرا بمثابة منتجع شتوي للطبقة الأرستقراطية البريطانية التي كانت ترغب في الهروب من طقس بريطانيا البائس. من قبيل الصدفة ، في نفس الوقت تقريبًا ، تم الإعلان عن فكرة العلاج المناخي (تغير في المناخ) كعلاج للأمراض الرئيسية مثل السل. مع الجمع بين هذين العاملين ، أصبحت الريفيرا مليئة بالنبلاء البريطانيين.

    علاوة على ذلك ، أتاح إنشاء خط سكة حديد الوصول إلى الريفييرا من بقية أوروبا. بعد فترة وجيزة من اكتماله ، قام القيصر الروسي ألكسندر الثاني ونابليون الثالث وليوبولد الثاني بزيارة كوت دازور. لم يمض وقت طويل قبل أن تزور الملكة فيكتوريا والأمير إدوارد السابع الساحل أيضًا ، وسرعان ما أصبح الاثنان زائرين متكررين.

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - تاريخ الريفيرا الفرنسية 1
    للقبض على لص من قبل ألفريد هيتشكوك مع جريس كيلي كاري غرانت ، وتجاوز موناكو

    ما تبع ذلك كان عرضًا للفنانين المشهورين ونجوم السينما ومجموعات الأفلام التي عززت الريفيرا الفرنسية على رأس قائمة السفر الفاخر. اجتذب الساحل أيضًا نصيبه العادل من الرسامين المشهورين عالميًا. هنري ماتيس وبابلو بيكاسو ، على سبيل المثال ، يترددان على Nice ومنطقة انتيبس. بينما استقر أوغست رينوار كاين سور مير. لكل عشاق الفن ، معارض فنية مخصصة لهؤلاء الرسامين يمكن العثور عليها على طول الريفيرا.

    على مدار القرن الماضي ، كانت الريفيرا الفرنسية الملاذ المفضل لدى الفنانين والمشاهير والنخبة الثرية من جميع أنحاء العالم. ولا يزال اليوم ، ساحرًا كما كان دائمًا ، يجب أن يحتل Côte d'Azur مكانًا في الجميع قائمة دلو السفر.

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - سانت تروبيز بيتش هيلفيجر 1
    تومي هيلفيغر قادمًا من يخته إلى الشواطئ في سانت. تروبيز

    إذا كنت مهتمًا بتاريخ الريفيرا الفرنسية ، فيمكنك ذلك معرفة المزيد هنا.

    التاريخ القديم وكيف شكل الريفيرا

    صراع على السلطة بين بروفانس الفرنسية وكونت دي Nice شكل تراثها المعماري. لكن تاريخها يعود إلى الرومان واليونانيين الفوشيين وحتى سكان الكهوف.

    لكن الرومان تركوا أكثر بكثير من مجرد حجارة متهدمة. لقد كانوا أول من أدخل زراعة الكروم في المنطقة - وهو تقليد يعيش في مجموعة كروم العنب ذات المستوى العالمي. والعديد من الآثار التاريخية لا تزال موجودة. صمدت القلاع والحصون أمام اختبار الزمن. تعتبر الكاتدرائيات والكنائس الباروكية دليلاً ليس فقط على تدين المنطقة ولكن أيضًا على الروح الفنية أيضًا.

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - دليل السفر مينتون
    جزء من متحف جان كوكتو في مينتون

    بدأ الزوار المتأخرون التغييرات الهيكلية لـ Rennaisance. نشأت الفنادق الشبيهة بالقصر والفيلات الفخمة. تُظهر الكنائس الأنجليكانية القوطية الجديدة والكنائس ذات القباب الغريبة للأرثوذكسية الروسية تطور كل من الإيمان والفن. ثم هناك الحدائق والمتنزهات المدهشة بالنباتات الاستوائية من القارات الخمس.

    لقد توافد الكثيرون على هذه المنطقة منذ فترة طويلة: من الملوك والملكات والأرستقراطيين في أوروبا القرن التاسع عشر إلى أشهر الممثلين والكتاب والرسامين والشعراء والفلاسفة في القرن العشرين. الأمثلة المعمارية والمتاحف من هذه الفترة الزمنية وفيرة ، ولكن لا تفوت فرصة زيارة متحف شاغال في بروميناد دو باليون في Nice و جان كوكتو متحف في مينتون.

    ملاذ عشاق الطعام

    مع أكثر من حصته العادلة من المطاعم الحائزة على نجمة ميشلان بالإضافة إلى مجموعة متنوعة من الأطباق المحلية ، يعد Côte d'Azur مكانًا رائعًا لتناول الطعام الفاخر والأطعمة الريفية أثناء إطلالة على البحر الأبيض المتوسط.

    توقف لتناول طعام الغداء حيث لا تزال المأكولات المشهورة عالميًا على علم أسواق Provençal. سواء أكان ذلك مشروبًا لذيذًا أو راتاتويًا لذيذًا ، فإن مسرات البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​كثيرة ، تعتمد على النبيذ الرائع والطماطم الطازجة والأطباق المغطاة بزيت الزيتون التقليدي. تضفي أزهار الوفرة من الطماطم والباذنجان والفلفل والبصل والثوم نكهة جديدة على الأطباق.

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - nice أطباق عشاق الطعام 2
    راتاتوي هو طبق ريفييرا فرنسي شهير

    لكل حالة مزاجية أو مناسبة أو ميزانية ، هناك الكثير من الأماكن لتناول الطعام. تجعل الطاولات المغطاة بالكتان ، والمعاطف الفضية ، وجحافل الخوادم المدربة تدريباً جيداً تناول الطعام أحد أعظم ملذات المنطقة. تحتوي مطاعم الشاطئ على طاولات في الرمال. يرافق الدي جي وإطلالة البحر المأكولات اللذيذة. يقدم ساحل البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​الكثير من المأكولات البحرية التي يتم اصطيادها محليًا. نوصي بالأسقلوب والمحار وبلح البحر ، وهي خيارات مستدامة يمكنك العثور عليها في معظم مطاعم الشاطئ.

    وإذا كنت من عشاق النبيذ (حقًا ، من ليس كذلك؟!) ، فهناك ما يقرب من 80 مزرعة عنب على سفوح التلال خلف الواجهة البحرية ، تنتج بعض الزجاجات الأكثر قيمة في فرنسا. انسى نابا! فرنسا هي المركز الأصيل لصناعة النبيذ ، وهذا هو أفضل مكان في العالم للقيام بجولة في مصانع النبيذ.

    لماذا الريفيرا الفرنسية؟ - أفضل الأسواق nice
    السوق في Nice

    إذا كنت تفضل تناول الطعام أثناء التنقل ، فإن الأسواق المحلية تبيع المنتجات المحلية الطازجة مثل الفواكه والخضروات والزهور كل يوم. يسهل العثور على الأنشوجة المحلية والزيتون والعسل والأعشاب والتوابل ، كما توجد الجبن المحلي والخبز الفرنسي في كل مخبز. تحقق من دليل لأفضل الأسواق.

    لاحظ أنه في فرنسا ، يحصل جميع المواطنين على أجور عادلة ، وبالتالي فإن الإكراميات عادة ما تكون صغيرة إلى حد ما. تحقق من دليلنا إلى أطباق foodie التي Nice معروف ب.

    جولة بالفيديو في الريفيرا الفرنسية

    هل تريد المزيد؟

    تحقق من أدلة لدينا إلى أفضل وأسوأ توقيت الرحلةو كيف تصل إلى هنا.

    لقد وضعنا معا قائمة المدن الكبرى (وقسمتها حسب النوع: المدن الساحلية ، والبلدات الساحلية ، والجزر ، والقرى التاريخية الجاثمة) ، مع ملخص سريع عن كل مدينة ورابط لمزيد من المعلومات. يجب أن يساعدك في تحديد المكان الذي تريد زيارته أولاً.

    لست متأكدا ما يجب القيام به؟ هنا لدينا دليل لتبدأ.

    هناك الكثير لتجربة في الريفيرا الفرنسية / كوت دازور. كل ما عليك فعله هو التنقيب قليلاً هنا في Iconic Riviera. استمتع بإجازة رائعة في هذا المكان الرائع على البحر الأبيض المتوسط!

    المحتوى محمي قانونًا.

    هل لديك نصيحة؟ بريد الالكتروني [البريد الإلكتروني محمي]

    ابحثأرشيف
    X
    ar العربيةzh-CN 简体中文nl Nederlandsen Englishfr Françaisde Deutschit Italianopt Portuguêsru Русскийes Español

Shortcuts

    Why the French Riviera?

    Welcome! You’re viewing the #1 most popular travel guide to the French Riviera. Part of the reason that Iconic Riviera is so popular is because it’s written by locals and we tell it like it is.

    In the navigation menu above you’ll see a list of towns (and if the list seems overwhelming, don’t worry — there’s a summary of each town below). Each contains travel guides and event listings, as well as recommendations for where to go for fun, to see nature, to a spa, shop and sleep, and more. We also have an events calendar that you can subscribe to via Google Calendar.

    Why the French Riviera? - french riviera travel guide 2

    Whether you are looking for a day that starts (and ends) with rosé at a celeb-filled beach club or prefer a more secluded seaside or historic village escape, Iconic Riviera will fill you in on the very best places to find whatever you’re looking for. Read on to find out why the French Riviera towns attract so many artists, celebrities, sun-seekers, and jet-setters.

    To start you off on your French Riviera journey here is the perfect overview of the area:

    Why People Love the French Riviera

    The French Riviera is a blissful place where palm trees sway in the warm breeze and the sea is more blue than you’ve ever seen; where you can still spot the influence of European royalty from long ago; and where A-listers have called ‘home’ for years. Set in the south-east of France, the French Riviera stretches from Menton to Nice, Antibes, Cannes, St. Tropez and –depending on who you ask– Cassis.

    While the French Riviera has maintained a glam reputation since the ’50s (Brigitte Bardot basking on St. Tropez’s beaches; A-listers strutting down Cannes’ red carpet), there is more to the Côte d’Azur than just its jet-set resort towns—including idyllic bohemian islands, hilltop medieval towns housing their own Michelin-starred restaurants, and a world-class arts scene.

    Why the French Riviera? - french riviera travel guide map

    The French Riviera is dotted with hidden gems steeped in local history, excellent cuisine, and artist’s hideaways. Head inland from the waterfront bustle to explore towns immersed in rich Mediterranean culture, where pristine vineyards hug hillside contours and an array of artisan activity provides endless appeal.

    Dramatic, diverse, and picturesque, this area is home to numerous ‘villages perchés’; ancient hillside towns packed with thriving communities, where secluded luxury blends with history. Such unique enclaves of inspiration indeed project an inimitable pull, ready to enchant and beguile the senses of those who come to explore.

    It is no secret that the evocative Cote d’Azur has long been a big draw for artists, resulting in masterpieces that have changed the face of art as we know it. These favored haunts have aroused such passionate vision thanks to the peerless blue waters and vivid sunsets, a fact easy to appreciate when watching the exquisite light flicker across the undulating coastline. 

    Why the French Riviera? - french riviera celebrities style 1
    beyonce and jay-z frequently visit the french riviera

    The French Riviera is known for its beaches, views, picture-perfect water, yachts, and as a playground for the wealthy. It is the place for the world’s elite to rub shoulders every summer. The ports glitter with superyachts. Craggy cliffs jut over a turquoise sea, forming the French Riviera’s famously rocky coastline. Quaint villages and coves are hidden between the region’s cities and towns, the most famous of which are Monaco, Saint-Tropez, Nice, and Cannes.

    The area benefits from up to 330 days of annual sunshine, 115 kilometers of coastline, 18 golf courses, 14 ski resorts, and 3000 restaurants. So, wherever you visit the Riviera, you can be sure that there’ll be plenty to do!

    Why the French Riviera? - Cap Martin Roquebrune travel guide2
    Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, between Monaco and Menton

    The nickname Côte d’Azur (or the Blue Coast) comes from the turquoise Mediterranean Sea. The word Riviera means coast in Italian. This area of ​​the French Mediterranean coast is one of the world epicenters of tourism. Luxury, tradition, culture, leisure, beach and mountains meet on the Côte d’Azur to make it a memorably special place.

    Where is the French Riviera?

    The French Riviera, which is also sometimes referred to as the Côte d’Azur, is arguably the most exciting place in the world. The French Riviera is the beautiful coastline in the south-east of France along the Mediterranean Sea. It covers about 550 miles and acquired the nickname Cote d’Azur or Azure (Blue) coast in 1887.

    The French Riviera is set between the Southern Alps mountain region and the Mediterranean. It is the beating heart of Mediterranean Europe. The Alpes-Maritimes département encloses it. There is no official boundary but most locals consider somewhere near Saint Tropez to be the soft border on the west side, and the France-Italy border is on the east, twenty minutes past Menton. Nice, a piece of jewel on the south-east coast of France, serves as the unofficial capital as it is the largest city of the region.

    Why the French Riviera? - french riviera travel guide map

    The French Riviera is at the heart of Europe, between the Southern Alps and the Mediterranean, from Cassis to Menton. The Mercantour National Park, together with the 13 other natural parks in the Côte d’Azur department, make up a vast playground for hiking, horseback riding, mountain biking, canyoning, climbing, and caving. This region also houses 15 ski resorts with over 700 kilometers of slopes.

    A Visual Overview

    This video gives a great overview of the area:

    The Riviera Climate

    The French Riviera has a perfect Mediterranean climate. Mild winters balance sunny, hot, dry summers. There are almost no days of frost.

    It’s warmer by the water, and cooler as you move away from the coast. The surest thing is the presence of sunshine all year round, with 330 days of summer every year. With its Mediterranean climate and the Alps’ shelter from harsh winds, you can be sure to be comfortable at any time of year.

    Check out our guide to the climate, weather and when to visit the French Riviera.

    Why the French Riviera? - french riviera travel guide collage
    Why the French Riviera? - french riviera travel guide3 1
    Cap Martin, between monaco and menton

    The People of the French Riviera

    Let’s be real. For some time France has been a country that does not like itself. Somewhere on the road from its humiliation in World War II to its disappointment with European integration to its discomfort with globalization, France slid into moroseness. High-speed trains purred; France pouted. Teachers refuse to give A+ grades for A+ work while students grew up thinking they were never good enough. NON! became the mot-du-century, and grumbling became a way of life; the response to lost grandeur.

    One of the few exceptions to this is the French Riviera. Perhaps it’s the sun and beaches, the huge tourism business, or the fact that it’s generally a wealthy area, but people in the south of France are quicker to smile than their northern countrymen.

    Why the French Riviera? - french riviera travel guide villas 1
    Villas on Cap Ferrat

    The French Riviera has a total population of over two million. As you may have guessed, most of the population is French, and the official language is French, but most people speak English since there are plenty of Brits and Italians who have second homes or who have moved to the area. It’s easy to get along in English and many signs are in both languages in the most touristy areas.

    Modern middle-eastern monarchs and nouveau-riche also want the taste of luster and wealth the French Riviera gives. In the past decade the French Riviera has seen a growing number of Russian, Middle-Eastern, and Chinese tourists, many who are scooping up luxurious waterfront villas and shipping in their custom Lamborghini for the season.

    Why the French Riviera? - brigitte bardot st tropez guide
    Brigitte Bardot helped make St-Tropez a jetset hotspot

    So, as you may have noticed by now, the French Riviera seems to be an area of great wealth. But has it always been like this? Well as a matter of fact, yes it has.

    Originally, the Riviera served as a winter resort for the British aristocracy who wished to escape Britain’s miserable weather. Coincidentally, around the same time, the idea of climatotherapy (a change in climate) was being advertised as a cure to major diseases such as tuberculosis. With the combination of the two factors, the Riviera became littered with British nobility. Hence where the notion of the ‘Promenade des Anglais’ came from.

    Further down the line, the establishment of a railway provided access to the Riviera from the rest of Europe. Soon after its completion, Tsar Alexander II of Russia, Napoleon III, and Leopold II visited the Côte d’Azur. It wasn’t long before Queen Victoria and Prince Edward VII also visited the coastline, and the two soon became frequent visitors.

    Why the French Riviera? - french riviera history 1
    TO CATCH A THIEF BY ALFRED HITCHKOCK WITH GRACE KELLY CARY GRANT, OVERLOOKING MONACO

    What followed was a parade of famous artists, movie stars and film sets that cemented the French Riviera at the top of the list for luxury travel. The coast also attracted its fair share of world-renowned painters. Henri Matisse and Pablo Picasso, for example, frequented the Nice and Antibes area. While Auguste Renoir settled in Cagnes-sur-Mur. For any art enthusiasts, art galleries dedicated to these painters can be found all along the Riviera.

    For the past century, the French Riviera has been a favorite refuge among artists, celebrities and the wealthy elite from all around the world. And still today, as enchanting as ever, the Côte d’Azur ought to occupy a place on everyone’s travel bucket list.

    Why the French Riviera? - st tropez beach hilfiger 1
    tommy hilfiger Arriving from his yacht to the beaches in st. Tropez

    Ancient History and How it Shaped the Riviera

    Power struggles between France’s Provence and Italy’s Comte de Nice shaped its architectural heritage. But its history reaches back to the Romans, Phocean Greeks, and even cave dwellers.

    But the Romans left much more than crumbling stones. They were the first to introduce viticulture to the region – a tradition that lives on in a collection of world-class vineyards. And many of the historical remains are still present. Castles and forts have withstood the test of time. Cathedrals and baroque churches are proof not only of religiosity of the area but also the artistic spirit as well.

    Why the French Riviera? - menton travel guide
    part of The jean cocteau museum in menton

    Latter visitors began Rennaisance structural changes. Palace-like hotels and lavish villas arose. Neo-Gothics Anglican Churches and exotic domed churches of the Russian Orthodoxy show the evolution of both faith and art. Then, there are the striking gardens and parks with tropical plants from the five continents.

    Many have long flocked to this region: from kings, queens and aristocrats of 19th century Europe to the most celebrated actors, writers, painters, poets, and philosophers of the 20th century. Architectural examples and museums from this time period are abundant, but don’t miss the Musee Chagall in the Promenade du Paillon in Nice and the Jean Cocteau Museum in Menton.

    A Foodie Haven

    With more than its fair share of Michelin-starred restaurants plus a variety of homegrown dishes, the Côte d’Azur is a great place for both fine dining and rustic fare while overlooking the Mediterranean.

    Stop for lunch where internationally renowned cuisine is still informed by Provençal markets. Whether it’s an indulgent bouillabaisse or a hearty ratatouille, Mediterranean delights abound, predicated on sensuous wines, fresh-off-the-vine tomatoes and dishes drizzled in artisanal olive oil. Cornucopias of tomatoes, aubergines, peppers, onion, and garlic give a fresh flavor to dishes.

    Why the French Riviera? - nice foodie dishes2
    Ratatouille is a famous french riviera dish

    For every mood, occasion, or budget, there are plenty of places to dine. The linen-covered tables, silver cloches, and the hordes of well-trained servers make dining one of the area’s greatest pleasures. Beach restaurants have tables in the sand. DJs and the sea view accompany the delightful cuisine. The Mediterranean coastline offers a bounty of locally-caught seafood. We recommend scallops, oysters, and mussels, which are sustainable choices that you can find at most beach restaurants.

    And if you’re into wine (and really, who isn’t?!) there are nearly 80 vineyards on the hillsides behind the seafront, producing some of France’s most prized bottles. Forget Napa! France is the authentic epicenter of wine-making, and this is the best place in the world to tour wineries.

    Why the French Riviera? - best markets nice
    The Market in Nice

    If you prefer to eat on-the-go, local markets sell fresh local products like fruits, vegetables, and flowers every day. Local anchovies, olives, honey, herbs, and spices are easy to find, and local cheeses and baguettes are in every bakery. Check out our guide to the best markets.

    Note that in France, all citizens are paid fair wages and so tips are normally fairly small. Check out our guide to the foodie dishes that Nice is known for.

    Video Tour of the French Riviera

    Want More?

    Check out our guides to best and worst trip timing, and how to get here.

    We’ve put together a list of the top towns (and broken them down by type: seaside cities, seaside towns, islands, and perched historic villages), with a quick summary about each town and with a link for more information. It should help you decide where you want to visit first.

    Not sure what to do? Here’s our guide to get you started.

    There is a lot to experience in the French Riviera / Cote d’Azur. All you have to do is dig around a bit more here in Iconic Riviera. Have a grand vacation in this wonderful spot on the Mediterranean!

    Have a tip? Email [email protected]
    SearchArchive
    X
    ar العربيةzh-CN 简体中文nl Nederlandsen Englishfr Françaisde Deutschit Italianopt Portuguêsru Русскийes Español